Mr. Issac Castleberry President

Hello,

 

My name is Issac Castleberry.  I am the CEO/Founder of Concrete Rose. I was born November 21st in Valdosta, Ga to Laval and Cheryl Castleberry.  I attended grade school in the Valdosta city school system but did not graduate.  I left school because I felt working was more important than going to school.  After two years I started to realize the importance of getting an education so I attended General Educational Development school on East Park Ave. in Valdosta.  I tested out and became a proud recipient of a GED.    After receiving my GED diploma, I enlisted into the United States Army where I have served nine years and counting.   While serving active duty, I started going to college at Cameron University for a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science.  During my leave, I like to go home and speak to the GED classes about the importance of education and help tutor if needed.  Just recently I started speaking with the alternative school about choices, education, and redemption after making bad choices.

 

Before founding Concrete Rose in 2013, I did a lot of charity work for several different organizations as well as independent projects on my own.   Just to name a few:

  • Raise $1,500.00 for charity water to build a well in Darfur

  • Worked with ESL (English as second language) to teach them English

  • Charity drives for orphans

  • Nursing home and home visits to the elder/ sick and shut-in

  • Helped build houses with Habitat for Humanity

  • Mentorship program for high risk teens

 

Over the years I continued my work volunteering with organizations that provide programs for at risk children and community restoration projects until I decided to start Concrete Rose.

Now looking towards the future I want to create a viable yet long-term solution to the issue that many of our citizens face in the inner cities and affects us as a whole.   I believe that the issues of some are the issues of many and we can only progress as a whole if we all band together and address issues not merely mask them.

To contact me please email me at icastleberry_31602@yahoo.com

Thank you.

Ms. Tangela Sherman, Vice President

Hello Everyone,
 

My name is Tangela Sherman. I was born on October 27 in Valdosta, GA. Yes I was born and raised a southern girl and it shows in my interest. I grew up from a poverty stricken family that relied on drug money and a single mother working 2 jobs to make ends meet. So stretching ten cent to be ten dollars is easy for me. I graduated from Valdosta High School and went with my BA from Valdosta State University. I received my MA from Florida Metropolitan University and concluding my studies with my Doctoral degree from Northcentral University. I am a single mom with two beautiful boys who are such a blessing to me and the world to receive.

 

I currently work as a juvenile Probation/Parole Specialists for Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice and I instruct Criminal Justice courses at Georgia Military College. I am currently a member of a few organizations from the Voices Now Family & Community Connection (Board of Directors), A member of 2) Family Connections, 3) Domestic Violence Task Force, 4) CPPC Committee, 5) L.I.P.T Committee, and now on the 6) Board of Directors for Concrete Rose. I am so excited to have this opportunity considering it touches close to home with me having two young boys of my own. This is not just a membership but a passion for me when it comes to working with and for our youth. I work so much that I really don’t get to have hobbies but I enjoy relaxing when I get a chance but trust me I make it seems as if I have more free time than I actually do. I have so many goals and aspirations that I would hope to accomplish them rather than to tell them to you. I hope to learn from and with each of you as we pursue our opportunity to help today’s youth and all of our future endeavors.

Ms. Michelle Castleberry, Secretary

Hello,

 

My name is Michelle A. Castleberry. I am the secretary of Concrete Rose.  I’m 21 years old, and reside in Valdosta. I am a Lowndes High School graduate and currently trying to pursue a degree in nursing.

 

I am very big on children pursing their education and being a part of an organization to make that happen for a child that wants to be successful is an honor. The programs are designed to focus on kids and their families residing in low income or high crime neighborhoods. To help shape and mold a child to perform better in school by using the summer curriculum, keeping the child productive and having the parent(s) involved. The investment is worth it and will end program ends when a child graduate or enrolls in college.

Mrs. Jennifer Reuter, Board Member

Hello Everyone,

 

My name is Jennifer Reuter. I was born on April 1988 in San Antonio, Texas. I grew up and still live on a low income budget. I graduated high school in 2006 and soon after joined the united states army where I met my now husband Timothy. Together we have two children and one on the way.

 

Currently I am a stay at home mom, but I do far more than just stay home. I enjoy helping out at my kids elementary school by assisting their teachers and the students, and also helping out with my son's basketball team. I am a member of the parent teacher organization at the school, volunteering and giving input when I can. When I have extra money I put it towards helping the homeless by making care packages filled with personal care items, a first aid kit, some food, and during the winter I like to pass out blankets as well. On my free time I love doing crafts, drawing, and painting.
Going to college and becoming a teacher are my future goals.

Mr. Kortlon Van, Board Member

Hello Everyone,

 

My name is Kortlon Van I was born in Bastrop Louisiana on February 22nd of 1995. Yes i just turned 20 two weeks ago. I grew up between two houses, my mom's house and my grandmother's house. I lived in a very country community. When i lived with my mother she had a house across the street from a bayou. My grandmother lived in a very dangerous and gang infested neighborhood. I stayed with her to help her fell more safe in her own house. For wise as school went I went to the only advanced school within my parish and graduated from high school in 2013. I went from high school right into the U.S. Army, in which i am currently employed. After serving a year in the military i got married.

 

My wife and I are very active outgoing people, we like to stay busy. We are both very generous and kind hearted. I was overwhelmed with joy to recieve the opportunity to work with all of you serving as a board member because, i remember growing up in my home town with nothing to do other than get in trouble, with only two ways out. One was college and the other was the military and coming from a long line of military in my family thats what i choose. Im now stationed on Fort Bliss in El Paso, Tx. i think with our diverse background i think we can accomplish great things for this organization.

Mrs. Penelope Mickey, Board Member

Hello Everyone,

 

My name is Penelope Mickey. I was born May 10, 1991, in Moreno Valley, CA. The military brought me to NC and we have been here ever since. I was raised in a single parent home my mother pushed me beyond limits and now that I am grown I love her even more for it. Growing up in a single parent home could be difficult especially when my mom had to work to the bone to keep me fed and good. Where I lived there was nothing for me to do but get into trouble and that I did running with the wrong crowd I will never forget the words my mother said for me to change the lifestyle I was heading towards. "I will take you out before I let these streets take my baby, I will fight to the end before you are laid up in the grave or in a cell." and from that day forward I got involved with sports and school clubs: such as Poetry club, FBLA and I even had my own dance team. I was later diagnosed with cancer at the age of 16 April 12, 2008, happy to say I am 9 years cancer free! I graduated from Richlands High School June 2009. I attended 3 years of college at Coastal Carolina Community College. I have not obtained my Early Childhood Degree yet but it is a work in progress. I am however a certified teacher and a level 1 Administrator. I have been teaching for 6 years from ages 12 months- 13 years of age. I have been a Administrator for a daycare at the age of 21 yrs old. I am married to my high school sweetheart and have one son, they are my life and I wouldn't trade them for anything.

 

I have mentored, tutored, and cared for many different ages of children. I believe they are the future and all it takes is just that one person to show that they matter. I am a very hands one person when it comes to projects I love to interact with people and have fun.

 

Ms. Jennifer Gibbs, Board Member

Hello Everyone,

 

My name is Jennifer Gibbs. I was born August 10th 1990 in Jacksonville NC. I grew up and still continue to live in a low income household. I am a single mother of three girls. I am also a stay at home mom, not as easy as one may think that's for sure. As a teenager I got into a lot of trouble. I did things that lead me to be where I am today.

 

I didn't finish school and I made a lot of bad choices.However, in March of 2013 I went back to school. I graduated high school in Nov. Of 2014 from Penn Foster Online. Being a mother changed my life for the better. I'm a dedicated mother who strives to be better and do better for my children.

Mrs. Penny Lewis Piggee, Board Member

Hello Everyone,

 

I was born and raised in San Bernardino California, I was born August 17th, 1967.  I have been on my own since 16 years old, I did not finish high school due to health reasons although I did receive my GED. I married and moved to NC with my husband and child. I became a single mother but was determined to give my child the life we both were accustomed to. I started and ran a successful business for ten years, though I missed some time with my child but I pushed her and taught her that nothing in life is free. In 1996 I was in a car accident that left me with a crushed leg, but that did not stop me I kept pushing through! I remarried in 2011 and had a grandbaby in 2013 both in which brings me the best joy. I play apart in couple of organization such as;

  • Relay for Life ( Team Leader)

  • Dads Willing to Be Dad (active supporter and donator)

  • March of Dimes (active donator)

 

I have also been on missionary missions for a previous church.

 

My biggest accomplishments was seeing my child graduate high school and live to see my grandbaby grow even through health problems I am still able.